Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

From the tagline of this blog it should already be quite obvious what this blog is about.  This is an egocentric exercise designed to self-promote my literary works in the hopes that this gives me the push I need to actually finish a project.  My ultimate goal here is to finally finish a project.

I have been writing for as long as I can remember.  I enjoy spinning out fantasy stories.  I love each and everyone of my characters.  I even feel that by writing realistic portrayals of human behaviour I can come closer to understanding the human condition.  Problem is, although I have been writing since my early teens,I have never finished any of my projects.  The majority of them sit in my computer archive gathering digital dust.

My main excuse for this is that, especially over the past decade, I have led a very busy lifestyle.  However I would be lying if I said that a case of nerves wasn’t involved.  I can write and submit an extensive dissertation for critical marking, but the thought I making my personal stories public gives me the jitters.  These two  issues are the backbone of the aims of this blog.

I have set myself goals for this adventure:  to write, and subsequently publish here, a scene at;east once a week.  This goal seems pretty manageable on the offset. However I know I have chosen such a lax goal in the first place because I know my ability for consistency in publication will mean this goal by itself will be hard to manage. I foresee weeks where I am able to over produce where as there will be weeks where I will not feel the inspiration to do so much as a sentence.

Still I have set myself a challenge.  The question will be ‘How will I answer this challenge’?

And on that note, I will leave with these final words:

It began one dark and stormy night…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

