Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

Image

Friday fictioneers flash fiction photo prompt now. ^_^  Now warmed up for my actual writing projects.

Delilah’s mother was a hoarder. She could no longer deny it. “Where did you say you put the silverware?” She shouted down the corridor as she squeezed through the towering piles of newspaper, books and general bric-‘n-brac. Suddenly something moved under her feet and Delilah went skating. With a shriek Delilah reached out to a shelf cluttered with lamps to regain her balance. The shelf snapped, and Delilah went crashing down only to be smothered by papers and smacked on the head by a stray lamp. With a groan she crawled out and shouted, “That’s it, Mum! Get out! I’m burning the place down!!!”

Comments on: "How to handle hoarders – Friday Ficioneers." (21)

  1. Delilah’s taking control! Great story 🙂

  2. What a fire that would make!!

    janet

  3. I can understand the impulse. I can’t stand clutter. Nice one.

  4. An entertaining and well-written story. This could also be seen as a warning to hoarders.

  5. I wrote about a hoarder as well and from the daughter’s perspective. 🙂 Burning it down would be the impulse reaction!

  6. Nothing wrong with fierdy doom at all. In fact, nothing wrong with any kind of doom…

  7. Haha! I don’t blame her one bit! I think I would do the same. Fun story.

  8. Hum! By the end after Delilah falls, shouldn’t it read “smothered by paperS AND Lamps”?
    Otherwise enjoyed but as this comment is mostly an erratum, feel free to delete after use,
    Tay! 🙂

  9. An easy solution to a difficult problem!

  10. Bring on the matches! that’s the way to go.

  11. Enough is enough! I hope her mother can find her way out through the mess in time.

  12. Dear Penshift,

    I used to live next door to hoarders. Strange. I think the neighbors would’ve sold tickets to see their house burn. Good one.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Hey Rochelle,
      I’ve know people to plan arson to deal with their neighbours trash problem. :). It would defo be a show to watch.

  13. Haha, poor Delilah, this was the last straw for her! Nicely done

  14. I think it was delightful and I don’t blame her for wanting to burn it down. Job well done! Nan

  15. you’ve always had a fascination with fire… 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

