Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

Space Junk

crashlandingToday’s writing challenge is Monday’s Finish the Story. This is my first time trying this one but I quite like the extra element the combination of prompts gave me. This one combines the use of a photo prompt and an opening que (the quote below).  The two managed to spark off a bit of inspiration regarding a plot I was playing with a few months ago.

Racing down into the atmosphere, the unidentified object crashed, leaving behind one heck of a huge crater and a plume of smoke that could be seen from miles around.

Adrian kicked his way out of the ship wreck. “Damn Gillian. He’s outfitted me with space junk!” Adrian climbed out into the breathable atmosphere, jumping off the research pod. Forehead pressed into palm of his hand, he muttered “I can’t believe I was knocked out orbit by a stray satellite.” He would never live this down. With a curse, he kicked the craft, taking small satisfaction in the metallic clang. Taking a deep breath he thought, ‘Calm down. Take stock.’ The fumes needed to clear before he could salvage anything. It was fortunate he had sent off an S.O.S before he took a nosedive. Uncertain of when a rescue would occur his next port of call was survival. Spinning around to assess what the locale had to offer he became aware with a sickening jolt that he was not alone. A sword greeted his throat. “So much for no contact.”

Comments on: "Space Junk" (15)

  1. Excellent story! And, thank you for taking part in this challenge! You can add your link as well through the little blue fellow that is on the Mondays page for Jan. 12th. This will get you some traffic as well. I hope that you return next week! Be well! ^..^

  2. Great story and good to see you join this challenge. I love your conclusion, well done.

  3. Nice work a great story and a good response to the prompt ~

  4. Looks like Adrian bought a lemon! And just when he thought things couldn’t get any worse…
    Great story!

  5. Great story. I love the detail of a sword at his throat. It throws up lots more interesting questions than would a gun at his head. 🙂

  6. My first time at this, too, and I’m finding it fun. Your story is great and I really love the sword at the throat at the end.

    • Thanks. I find the challenges are a great way to flex creative muscles without getting weighed down by attempting big projects. Though some of the stories come out better then others… I think I tried to incorporate to many challenges in today’s lot. This one was a single prompt so the simplicity was easier to work with.

  7. Good story. This would be a great hook for a longer story also. Good action. Well done, Penshift.

  8. This story is great! Haha! Well, he must have gone through some type of time warp.

    • There are so many possibilities with this. I planned to turn into something longer before I wrote this. now its hard to choose.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

