Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

One person’s heaven

oldbuilding

Sunday photo fic, albeit I’m dangerously close to Tuesday. I given up a trying to do all the flash fics I think of on the day I think of them.  I’ve been working to hard in all areas; not just my writing. Now I’m hitting the overload wall. Anywho, I introduce Eric the ghost hunter.  I had to edit this a few times – The first draft made him sound so… Perverted.

One person’s heaven.

This jobs a bust, Eric decided, as he stroked the ears of his tranquil collie. Simpletons! Point at an old building and the chances are 5:1 that some fool will say it’s haunted. Eric shot a moody glance at the fireplace; a log had just crackled naturally. I bet that tree grew straight and pure! At least give me some gnarly old wood grown over a forgotten grave! Eric was irked.

The house had the right atmosphere, damn it. The wiring out-dated; the heating pre-war. Disrepair had touched every surface. Without the grace of the supernatural these were but… Idiosyncrasies! Peaceful, and utterly boring, Eric sighed. He missed finding his keys in odd places. The titillation of strange shadows, the rush of an unseen presence. Eric found no excitement here; all he found was a brief holiday in hell.

Comments on: "One person’s heaven" (5)

  1. Nice story. I hate it when they always find ghosts.

    • It’s too easy. Besides, I have been in so many building that are over 200 years old and only a few gave me a bad feeling. Ghosts are not exactly common place. 🙂

  2. Looks like the building has given up the ghost! Nice twist on a traditional haunted house story! 🙂

  3. Looks like ghosts are due to become a protected group. Apparently they’re not as common any more. Well done, Penshift. 🙂 — Suzanne

    • Eric is too good at his job -_- but it’s probably for the best because he tends to cause structural damage in the removal of entities. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

