Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

All a girls wants.

boatpilxr_-antiquedcheetarI finally got an idea for Friday Fictioneers.  This one also draws from the prompt for Jeremy’s Thursday prompt. Two for the price of one!

Sorry if the dialogue is a little difficult to read. I wanted to make it clear they were trying to be quiet.

All a girl wants.

THUNK-Ssssh-ingle. “EREN!” Eren jolted awake, eyes darting from the burlap sack to Eylene above. “Catch!” She whispered, heaving a second sack. Before Eren knew it he had dropped the sack when it wriggled. THUMP! Eyelene set the boat rocking. “What’s going on?!” Eren whispered. Eren raised a finger to her lips. “An-” Eylene had his mouth covered. “We run!” Eren pulled away.

Why?!” The second sack rolled furiously, sending the glittery contents of the first scattering. Eren hit the deck, vision filled by snarling cheetah. “…Eyelene…” The silly cow had just robbed the West-sea Pirates blind. “Why the cat?

Comments on: "All a girls wants." (12)

  1. And I would ask, “Why not the cat?” Cheetahs are cool (though I think their chances of survival just diminished).

    • I would have asked how she got it in the sack in the first place. 🙂 Eren’s chances of survival aren’t good if he kills it, so the Cheetah is quite safe. I wouldn’t mind a cat if I could have a Cheetah or Panther.

  2. why the cat indeed? good question.

  3. Dear Stephanie, Very interesting story so she was a thief, stealing their stuff? The cheetah was kidnapped too? Cute idea for the prompt! Nan

  4. Good plot, Stephanie. I think your writing is strong enough that you needn’t rely on font size to indicate the whispers.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  5. Good story with a lot of action. I don’t think I’d have taken the cheetah. I agree about the font size. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

  6. Interesting experiment in visual prose, never good get the hang of it myself but it works here.

    Thank you for joining the challenge

    • Visual prompts click for me because I don’t just hear the words I imagine the scene. If I ever get a book finished I’m giving strong consideration to getting an illustrator.

      • i must admit it varies for me, right now my spur comes from music but sadly that doesn’t work for many going by last year

      • Musical prompts can work but I’m musically illiterate. 🙂 I find there’s music in the language to begin with so the two aren’t that far apart. I suspect that those who respond to musical prompts are more poetically inclined too begin with. I like poetry but never seem to catch the right rhythm when I write it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

