Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

bookstorewolfI’ve tied this one into two different sets of prompts again today.  The Quote and the pretty wolfy are from Monday’s finish the story.  The bookstore is from Sunday Photo Fiction.

First rule of apocalyptic fiction.

“She was unaware that she was being watched.”

Eve hunkered down in a musty, used book store; it was one of the few buildings that was still intact after the violent riots. She shoved the smashed remains of shelving into her meagre fire; wondering how long it would be until she was forced to burn the books. The silence mocked Eve as she stared at the flickering flames; her sense of isolation now competing with her sense of desolation. A quick meal of tinned tuna later and Eve allowed sleep to claim her, curled up next to the fire; burying herself in memories of loved ones who she hoped were still alive. Unfortunately, Eve had made one fatal mistake: she forgot to bar the door. The wolf who crept in had a pampered look, but it had missed one too many meals in quick succession. There was no pleasure in this hunt. There was simply-

The writer hit delete. Her protagonist needed to survive past chapter one.

Comments on: "First rule of apocalyptic fiction." (21)

  1. Great twist! I’d be just like that author – I get impatient for cool stuff to happen (which is why I stick to flash fiction!).
    Well done combining the two prompts.

  2. Great! I was waiting for the end to come. On to chapter two! 😃

  3. I should know to expect that unexpected from you by now 🙂 Gotta love that delete button.

  4. This post made me want to go and read some apocalyptic fiction… I’d forgotten what a terrifying – and at the same time fascinating – genre it can be!

    • Yeah – that’s the hidden joke here. It’s a challenge to write your characters out of situations because the odds are so against them. They are screwed in soooo many ways. But getting eaten by a hungry zoo wolf because she forgot to bar the door, that’s just dumb…

  5. Love the ending! The delete button is the writer’s best friend. Great response to the two prompts. 🙂

  6. Nicely done! Thank you for participating in MFtS challenge! Hope to see you back next week! Be well,,, ^..^

  7. Wow..close call! Imagine someone’s death simply a delete button away! Enjoyable and nicely told.

  8. Ha! nice one! I’m with Ali on this one, I’m too impatient for the story to unfold too, hence flash fiction rules in my book – for now anyway. I like the way you combined the two challenges together.

    • Secretly its because I could only manage ‘normal’ plots with the individual prompts.

      I was actually writing a fic in flash chunks. It felt slow!

  9. I agree, Penshift, that was a great twist at the end. You nicely combined the two prompts into one story. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

  10. Seriously, I am like, okay.. omg then ha ha ha that is so funny” How do you twist these stories to include humor?! I only wish they were longer 🙂

    • Funny twists in a short flash fiction are easy enough. Just pick a punchline a write. Longer the fic is the more elements can cloud or detract from humorous elements. I’m a Pratchett/Sharpe fan, so I learnt a lot from there styles of writing. It takes a lot more polishing to make a short story or novel funny.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

