Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

3, 4, and 5; EEeep

It’s clearly a busy week for me, despite feeling so run down. I’ve barely written anything forevs!  I have, on the other hand, been nominated another 3 times for ‘The Lovely Blog Award’ by Clintington on Film, The Black Hat Writer, and Mischief Memoirs separately.  I now smells a conspiracy at work. <.< >.> <.< *dons tin-foil hat*

Since it’s 3 separate nominations I thought it was fair play to list 21 ‘interesting’ fact about myself but I have only made 15 nominations cuz 45 seemed to many. 🙂 Here we go and have fun!

  1. I am totalling unphased by creepy-crawlies. Whenever a poor, ickle bug manages to cause mass panic at work I’m the one called upon to rescue poor Mr. eight-legs.
  2. The only time I backed away from a spider was because Limpy, our 7 legged huntsman spider (who, even with his deformity, was still as big as a hand), had decided he need to use the toilet for his business. I left him too it. It was the only polite thing I could do after walking in on him.
  3. I have a paralysing fear of falling, especially around water. My entire body locks up into paralysis mode if I start to slip and there’s no way of stopping myself.
  4. It was so bad that I had a recurring nightmare when I was really little about falling off a cliff into the ocean. Magically, this dream stopped once my parents got rid of the water bed I was sleeping on.
  5. I failed my first driving test because I was speeding! (Not by much) The Irony was I was a super-slow driver because I was afraid of loosing control behind the wheel.
  6. When I did crash I was going a good 20km below the speed limit and still took out 4 thick fence posts! The passenger side window was caved in but I got away with whiplash and a nice shiner on my thigh.
  7. After this I lost my fear of driving and suddenly I was a bleedin’ rally driver!
  8. My dog was one of my best friends. I remember walking him one day and running into two of the neighbour kids a few streets down. They had just got themselves an American pit bull and wanted to show of it’s power. -_- Now my Blueheeler would have had no trouble taking it – he was a bad dog for wandering off and getting into fights and heelers aren’t exactly known for their delicate demeanour, but I wasn’t having him injured because a couple of twits wanted to prove their dog was a fighter. They threatened to sic their dog on him. I looked at the dog. I looked at them. “He’ll lose it.” They looked a little miffed, I must say! So I really wasn’t surprised when one of them challenged me on it. I still enjoy their perturbed look at my next response, “You try it and I’ll finish it; he goes near Blue and I will be on him!” Top tip: If you are in a situation where a dog is seriously trying to maul you – shove your fist down it’s throat; it will choke, let go, and rethink it’s attack. I never want to have to do this but when dealing with irresponsible owners it’s the only way too go.
  9. This same pair, along with my gal pal’s neighbour, were seriously bullying said gal pal one day by deliberately running into her with their bikes. I was furious. They had no need for their behaviour and she was in tears. I deliberately stood in their path as they tried it on me. I waited till one got close, grabbed the handle bars and stopped him in his tracks. I must have looked fierce, because they all stopped their little game of chicken. Next thing I know *J*, who was not actively involved but still hanging with the group, was running up to me to apologise for it. Thinking back, I’m now beginning to understand why no one ever got physical with the bullying when I entered high school.
  10. I used to walk my dog through the neighbouring cattle farmer’s paddocks. The cattle were so used to seeing us that one day I lowed at them for the hell of it and damn things began to follow me!
  11. I once tried to shoo a large shingle back lizard off the road so he wouldn’t get squished. The little bastard turned around and -snapped- at me. Thankfully, I had done the shooing with a branch, because he snapped it in two…
  12. I will eat almost anything; including liver and kidneys, BUT get those bloody olives away from me!!!
  13. I often talk to myself. Worse, I often answer. This has earnt me my fair share of odd looks!
  14. I always talk to inanimate objects too! However Google now and Siri cause me to wig out. How dare they talk back too me! I am their master.
  15. The first room I had in Brighton was with B*. She had another lodger and was renting to me to force her 46 year son to move out. This did not work. When I moved out 3 loooong years later he was still on her couch.
  16. The son was an abusive piece of work. He was always looking for ways of verbally abusing or threatening us. He didn’t like me because I didn’t have the time of day for him. He started – I was gone.
  17. B* was forever using me as her therapist. If I had charged fees I’d be rich.
  18. B* once had me stay home from college because she was planning on locking F* out and needed some one in ear shot who would dial 999. This was not a plan I was comfortable with as my room had no lock – not that I didn’t have plenty of potential bludgeons.
  19. I saw my first corpse when I was 19 – a nice late age. All because the memo that the ladies room was not to be entered that day was somehow ‘lost’. Unfortunately, I wasn’t even that ruffled. I would like to say I want to be more affected by it but I like not having PTSD!
  20. One of the final year modules I opted for in uni was the sociology of death; fascinating subject but all the materials came with warnings! We were also advised to see a counsellor if it got too much! Seriously, why study a subject if you can’t stomach the contents?
  21. I think snails are lucky. I know, random right? (Thought I’d be nice and finish off with something less depressing)

Nominations – I hope I haven’t accidentally spammed you twice, guys!  I now realise I am going to have to follow more blogs so I don’t wind up with identical nominations every time.

  1. Momus News
  2. John Yeo
  3. the dysfunctional writer
  4. Ladyleemanila
  5. Dean Baker
  6. Helen Midgley
  7. Bjorn Rudberg
  8. The Incognito writer
  9. Impromptu Promptlings
  10. A lot from Lydia
  11. Writing and Works
  12. Tokoni
  13. Sara Roethle
  14. Kim of Poetry on a Roll
  15. Claire Fuller
Comments on: "3, 4, and 5; EEeep" (9)

  1. Best nomination decision I ever made! 😉

  2. Reblogged this on The Icognito Writer and commented:
    Thanks for the nomination, I’m flattered.

  3. I answer myself too!
    Thank you for the nomination, I’m afraid I don’t really get involved with these awards but I really appreciate the thought.

  4. […] the ‘Versatile Blogger Award’. Previous posts can be found One, Two, and the longest Three. For this one I have George Agak to […]

  5. XD I remember a lot of this:p

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

