Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

Directionally challenged

rattleI had fun with this one, I can’t lie.  It’s fiction with a musical interlude.  Sing the short verse to the tune of postman pat. It’s a riot!  The photo prompts and story started have been borrowed from Monday’s finish the story. If you’d like to join head on over.

Directionally Challenged

“Diamond Jack had his hideout next to the Rattle Snake River.”

Diamond Jack, Diamond Jack

Diamond Jack and his grey and black hack.

Early in the evening, just as day is leaving

He rustles all the cattle in his truck.

Diamond Jack, Diamond Jack

Diamond Jack and his grey and black hack.

All the owls are screeching

And the night is leaching

Jack feels he’s a very wealthy man

Everybody knows Sheriff Colt’s villain,

all the farmers cheer as Colt dogs the fleeing man

But Colt can never be sure,

Where the cattle are going (lowing)

Perhaps (whip crack)

off to foreign shores.

Miss Colt placed her chalk down. “Diamond Jack was a notorious cattle rustler, and his feats have become part of local folk lore. Can anyone tell me why Sheriff Colt failed to find his hideout?”

Tentatively a mousy girl put her hand. “Don’t you know, miss? Your grandpa got lost!” Miss Colt chuckled; the family secret was safe for another year.

Comments on: "Directionally challenged" (24)

  1. Excellent! Loved the song! And, the finish! Thank you for taking part again! I hope that you come back for the next challenge! Be well… ^..^

  2. Now I have an image of Postman Pat moonlighting as a cattle rustler 🙂

  3. Lovely story enjoyed this very much, gave me a smile.

  4. Love your sound effects…lowing, whip crack… that was clever. I don’t know ‘postman pat’ so I couldn’t sing along. Clever story

  5. Nice litle catchy tune. 🙂

  6. Great song and very astute finish ~ Very neat ~ 🙂

  7. Excellent, Penshift. I thoroughly enjoyed singing to the Postman Pat tune again. What a clever idea you had! Great image of Diamond Jack on his grey and black hack, too.

  8. alas I do not know Postman Pat,but I did enjoy it as a song.. hmm I think I have a clue about the family secret… 🙂

  9. Great story, or should I say song! Very clever. And what exactly is the family secret? Like Bjorn, I have an inkling but whether I’m right is another matter entirely…

  10. Good story, Penshift. I don’t know the song either, but the story was still enjoyable. Kind of good the secret is still safe. It’s more fun that way. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

  11. Similarly to Priceless Joy I grew watching Captain Kangaroo and Mr. Greenjeans!! Good Story!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

