Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

Haiku

I’m taking a poetry day; for me that is literally a day off from fiction while still writing. Following you will find some experiments with the haiku format. Personally, I don’t feel haikus lend well to the english language. Japanese syllables tend to be short, clipped and distinct as a rule where as English is littered with elongated vowels and soft consonants. As a result the tightness of the haiku form is lost. But here we go.

Leaves on the water,

gently floating on ripples,

sink into darkness.

Trees sleep; winter waits.

Spring and summer flaunt passion.

Autumn falls silent.

Our time is a gift.

We should live it to the full.

Appreciate it.

Comments on: "Haiku" (7)

  1. I like the idea of summer flaunting passion – lovely line! 😊

  2. I really like the image of the leaves…gently floating on ripples. And Trees sleep; winter waits’ is lovely. The last haiku I like because it’s so very true. You’ve done a good job with all three penshift (even without the Japanese language). 🙂

    • Haha I know a little japanese; if I wrote in it it would sound good but would be utter gibberish upon translation. Thanks. The simplicity the form forces one to use can create some very nice imagery.

      • Well, i think you ought to do the next one in Japanese! Haha! Clever you, being able to speak it – even if it is only a little. 🙂

      • Waaaay ahead of you! 🙂 just posted one in Japanese with direct translation. Japanese is taught in Australian schools and I’ve been watching anime in Japanese for years, so my mastery level is actually pathetic. I should be fluent… But then I live in English speaking countries.

      • Great. I’ll hop over and have a look in a mo. Being an English speaker has definite drawbacks when it comes to learning other languages. We’re a lazy lot, aren’t we? We just rely on everyone else learning English.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

