Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

Lady of Fool’s lake

foolHere’s one for Monday’s finish the story. Yes, I know. It’s friday. ūüôā That’s how long it took me to get all the humour orientated plots that I could not get to work out of my mind. ¬†It seem that writing the haikus earlier forced my brain out of stubborn mode on what it wanted to write based on this prompt.

‚ÄúDropping her line into Fool’s Lake, she patiently waited for something to bite.‚ÄĚ

There was a legend about Fool’s lake.¬†It was¬†once¬†Loch¬†Caitlin;¬†named for¬†Caitlin¬†GilleChr√¨ost, her¬†love for the Loch¬†renowned.¬†Count Calum’s marriage to Caitlin,¬†whose origins were mysterious,¬†had been¬†met with¬†titillation and ire.¬†The woman remained a dutiful wife¬†despite¬†subtle intimidation¬†by¬†her peers;¬†becoming¬†an elegant hostess while she raised heirs. One¬†eve of their anniversary¬†Caitlin disappeared¬†and the bodies of Calum and a servant were found in his chamber. When her gown was fished out of the Loch¬†it¬†was assumed she had¬†drowned¬†out of grief. Caitlin¬†was labelled¬†the Fool by those responsible for her¬†despair.

Sandra Gilchrist, alone, knew the real story of Caitlin. She waited for her brethren, the Selkies, to claim her as they had reclaimed her ancestor. For now, she fished.

Comments on: "Lady of Fool’s lake" (11)

  1. I did enjoy this. I also rushed off to look up selkies as I thought they also appeared in Harry Potter but there they were referred to as the merpeople.
    What intrigued me about this was how much richer and fascinating your story became with the addition of an extra layer. Excellent ideas.
    My name is Michael, what do you prefer to be called on your blog as I see you name appears alongside on your twitter.

    • Penshift or Stephanie is fine. Just seemed strange to give myself the username Stephanie! I thought about post a link to selkies but didn’t want to give away the twist. ;/ It like to do a longer version from caitlin POV but it would require a glossary for the many gaelic terms I would end up using + research. x.x

      • Well it is a fascinating topic and worked so well within the context of the image. Well done Stephanie, I find addressing people by name much more personable. Hope you have a good day.

  2. Oh, very cool ūüôā I like your take on this, and I’m glad you took your own path on this. Isn’t it amazing how many different stories developed from this one sentence!

  3. I loved this! And I enjoyed the change in the names…Well done. She still swims in Fool’s Lake…Thank you Stephanie for participating again, and I hope to see you this coming back for next Mondays challenge! You can enter your story from Monday to Sunday! Stay tuned for something musical and a bit creepy! Be well…. ^..^

  4. Loved the gaelic references! Looking forward to more ūüėÄ

  5. Good story with a nice twist.

  6. Very cool story! I love stories about all manner of supernatural creatures. Nice twist.

  7. Good weaving of the tale into the modern story, Penshift. Well done. ūüôā — Suzanne

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

