Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

The regular

bookies

The piece I’ve written based on the photo prompt for ‘Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers‘, a new writing challenge in it’s debut week. Join in if you like.

The Regular.

Susan fled to quiet of Café Moca, relaxed by the musty scent of books. Coffee, books, company; the perfect retreat from stress. Aiden, the barrister, waved as he spotted her. “Hey, Suz!”

“Hey, Sugar. You still working?”

“Aw, nice to see you too!” He replied, flashing a cheeky grin as he worked.

“You know you’re the highlight of my day,” Susan replied, leaning onto the counter. Aiden already had her double-strength latte, with home-made Victoria sponge, coming. Tuesday – sponge day, she smiled. “That’s the coffee,” Aiden replied.

“Absolutely! Aiden… When was the last day you had off?” She worried.

“Eh? Aah… The last part-timer quit last week. I’m holding out till Mick can hire someone.”

“No wonder you look wrecked. I’ll send Clara over; she needs a job.”

“Suzzie, you’re a lifesaver. I could finally see Mick! The cake’s on the house.” Sweet! She could kiss Aiden. But, she mused, Mick would be pissed.

Comments on: "The regular" (14)

  1. Nicely done Stephanie, they tell me coffee breaks down so many boundaries. I will go and check out this prompt.

  2. Wonderful! I enjoyed reading it. My quesion is this, are Aiden and Mick an item or is she hot for Aiden? Got a little confused there. Thank you for participating! Hope you will continue.

    • It was meant to confuse a little – if I had 50 more words I might have clarified their triangle but for this I kept it as a colourful undertone. 🙂 The main focus was intended to be that she had been going there often enough to build up a friendship with the personnel.

  3. Cute story. Right off the bat I could tell you were writing from somewhere other than the US, just certain words you use, I could imagine everyone with an accent 🙂 I love accents. Ok anyway, I liked the banter between the two characters and I loved that the barista knew Susan’s drink, it showed their relationship. But as above I was also confused if there was some sexual tension in the air. It’d be an interesting underlying tone if there was. An unspoken attraction? Overall nice job.

    • Imagine Susan with an Aussie accent and Aiden with an English one. 😀 It was a deliberate undertone – one that was meant to leave you questioning. IT’s more fun that way. 50 more words I may have clarified… May. 🙂

  4. Suzzie chose well not to kiss Aiden. To me, the name Aiden symbolizes a very young man. Suzzie seems motherly. She knows what’s going on…
    Ellespeth

  5. I wondered if Aiden and Mick are a couple, but Susan sounded a little flirty. Great job 😉

  6. Oh, i just loved it! ‘Coffee, books, company’, as you put it. Potent! Suzzie is surely confident…

  7. Intriguing interactions going on here. I love the friendly banter and the smells of coffee and old books you create. An interesting last two lines, which leave us wondering who’s with who and just why Mick’s going to be pissed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

