Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

Soooo, I finally have net connection and time to write a post. Nothing fictional today. Not in the best mindset for writing. Β You will also have to forgive any bad mis-spellings or grammar errors as my fatigue levels are really high right now. I just had a long-haul flight from Uk to Australia via the most obscure flight path conceivable. Final destination set for Gladstone (Central Queensland, Aus), we trekked via Abu Dabai, Perth (Western Aus), then Brisbane (South-East Queensland) before hitting the final flight of the journey. 3 Days in the country and I’ve already had a panicky trip to the hospital because my feet/ankles have been swollen for two days; last night developing a red rash above the swelling. Automatic worry: Deep Vein Thrombosis. Thankfully, the ultrasounds were clear of clots! Of course the suggestions were cellulitis, infection or the weird Golfer’s Vasculitis my aunt and uncle’s get. -.-

This trip has been rather sudden. It was completely unplanned. We had a tragic bereavement amongst my close relatives, so bags were packed and plane was caught. I can’t say I’m unhappy to be home but I really do wish I was here under better circumstances. I am planning to get some writing at some point but not only are things a little hectic, I not exactly 100%. I’d be lying if I said recent events haven’t been on my mind as well. Β Only bright side: I’m in the country for my little sister’s birthday.

Comments on: "Give me a home among the gum trees." (16)

  1. I hope you enjoy your time in Australia despite the sad circumstances and that you’re able to write creatively soon. πŸ™‚

    • Not to sound patriotic or nothing but there is a uniqueness about that certainly inspires interesting stuff. Some of the prominent artists are outright nutters. Its nice to see family again though, and they are all crawling out of the woodwork. I swear this the only way to see them all without days of travel in different directions.

  2. It’s nice to read your update, Penshift, and to know that your ultrasound results were clear. Travelling home for a funeral is always difficult, even though it’s lovely to see family and old friends again. I hope you can still manage to enjoy that side of your visit, at least. I agree that the route of your flight out to Gladstone does seem rather odd. Let’s hope you can pick up your fiction writing again before too long. πŸ™‚

    • I’ll be back too writing soon enough. Actually had a few moments that I would have written if it were for the fact I was so tired I was crashing.

      • Get plenty of rest first, then see how you feel. I can imagine you’re rarin’ to get back to it. A little at a time, then… πŸ™‚

  3. So sorry about family bereavement and your flight through hell. Sitting in cramped airline seats can cause your ankle swelling. I always stand and walk around in flight (and do lots of walking now on the ground!). Hope you feel better, Stephanie. Pain and loss as well as ‘going home’ can be terrific triggers for writing. Take care.

    • It has certainly triggered some creative dreams! Its been dream journal time for the past few days. The irony is I’m unable to sit still for long so I was moving as much I could without irritating others passengers. But I have family members who get golfer’s vasculitis from walking in hot weather, so it my be that; I’ve just never had it!

  4. Grueling journey! Hope you feel better soon 😦

    Sorry you’ve lost someone close. I hope being home with family helps you through this.

    • Its actually forced me to make the decision to come. There’s this unsettling reality that I want to be close to family if my health goes downhill. My cousin was only 4 years older then me. I expected them to outlive me. Too lose him to an accident is just making me realise that anything could happen all over again. Of course with my now paranoid reactions to health matters I’ve got at least 10 years. If not longer Heh.

      • Anything can happen, yes. My mother was diagnosed with cancer last January. In less than three months, she was gone. All she wanted was to be with family.
        Healthy or not, friends and family, that’s what’s important. Everything else is just stuff. Not that I’m not fond of my stuff πŸ™‚

  5. chrislb94 said:

    Do e a favour and ask me to proof read for you πŸ˜‰ seriously, I’m happy that you have decided to come home for a while but yes I also wish the catalyst was not so tragic 😦 xxxxxx

    • Mum, go away :p meanie picking on my grammar. I’m using notepad because I’ve properly tested word processors on new computer. By the way its me not e!

      Cleaning out the ute is hard in both senses. On the bright side, I found keys he lost…

  6. chrislb94 said:

    Lol and you can proof read for me πŸ˜‰

  7. I am very sorry to hear about the loss of your family member and of the illness you have been struggling with. I hope being in Australia will bring back your health, and you will find peace and what you need to really get into your writing again.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

