Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

The white rose

Another trip into a morbid mind. But when I saw this photo prompt provided by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (original source of image is Pixibay.com) I couldn’t get past all the… red!

redgown

Graceful twirls caught the eye; leaping, pirouetting across the ice. Sweet fragrances further to further entice. Ruby leotard, coral blush, and a sweet conceit of tone to bring trophies home.

Upon her doorstep a scarlet Rose.

Sweet scent, finger prick.

Coppery taste of blood.

Unwary.

Taken into the dark.

Amongst Geraniums, Cardinals, in still repose.

Raven hair,

crimson lips,

sanguine streaks on pale…

lifeless…

skin…

Upon the glass the Dark Prince bestows

a single white Rose.

Comments on: "The white rose" (16)

  1. Beautiful poem/story! I love it!

  2. I love the rhythm of this and your take on the prompt. Poor girl, as well!

  3. chrislb94 said:

    Intriguing 🙂 beautiful

  4. It reads like a modern take on a Disney story with a stalker instead of a prince, very interesting twist.

    • Yeah, too much watching dexter for me. Hate to think what he would to his ‘Cinderella’.

      • Now that’s a scary thought. I stopped watching that show after season 3, I think it was season 3. I don’t want to blab out a spoiler if you’re watching on Netflix.
        Maybe I thought Disney because I just got back from there 🙂

      • I have watch up to season 7, so I probably should be the one to not blab spoilers. 🙂 I was also getting a snow white vibe from photo so you’re not wrong about Disney with a twist.

      • Yep, it’s the dress 🙂

  5. Liked it! All it needs now are the seven dwarfs. 🙂

  6. Graham Lawrence said:

    Wonderful words!

  7. This was a lovely read Stephanie enjoyed it very much. I hope life in Queensland is treating you well?

  8. Wonderfully told, an image befitting a young woman lying in a coffin.

  9. Awesome! I loved this…hmmm will she ever awaken or sleep forever under the glass and the white rose…beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

