Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

Hope

deccay

copyright to Dale Rogerson

I’ve kicked my Nanowrimo off rather slowly with this little piece based off last weeks prompt for Friday fictioneers.  I’m a little out of practice when it comes to writing a story in 100 words, but I consider this part of my story/character intro for my current work. Not sure yet as to whether future fic will be related; it tends to get confusing if small sections are added sequentially.

*edit – Chissick is my best estimation of metal being drawn over a wet stone for sharpening.  I would re-write to clarify this better but it ends up too long.  This is the only problem with the use of ‘sound effects’ in writing; the audience has to recognise them in the first place. Oops on my part.
Chisssick.
“Deliah…?”
Chisssisk. “Yes, Isolde?”
Chisssisk. “The river is barely a trickle… The woods contain nothing but the corpses of trees…” Chissisk. “…Our fields can’t sustain the cow; let alone crops…” Chissisk. “I understand father’s tools but why keep the hunting tools sharp?”
Deliah gently placed her tools away. “Hope,” she paused, stroking the oiled, leather tool-wrap, “The rains will purify the land.  The river will swell; life will bloom.  Our field will be flush with crops.” Deliah smiled ruefully at her sister.  “When that happens I wish to hunt again.”
Isolde shook her head, and stirred the bubbling gruel; wondering how it would feed their family.
Comments on: "Hope" (8)

  1. Hey! I quite liked this! Don’t worry about writing stuff that is ‘short’, because I feel length doesn’t really have anything to do with brilliance! 🙂

    • I like being forced to use fewer words. you to use the words with care. But I haven’t tried a 100 word limit in months. Glad you liked it. ^_^

  2. I also sometimes write stories for the photo prompts that aim at fleshing out characters or backgrounds. I like the conversation, the longing for better times. The Chissisk confused me a bit, is that the sound of the bubbling gruel?

    • It’s the best estimation I could make of metal being drawn over a sharpening stone. I forget not many people actually try to sharpen their knives these days without taking then to a pro.

  3. Dear Penshift,

    I really think the hundred word limit does help in writing longer pieces. It makes you think about what’s important to say. I agree with GAH about ‘chissik’ being confusing. I didn’t know until reading the comment that it was supposed to be a sound.

    Best wishes in NaNoWriMo.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. I finding myself wanting more 🙂 this was so good, I wonder what would have happened later on 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

