Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

Image

Now for some Flash fiction!!!  This is part of Friday Fictioneers challenge  – the idea is to create a 100 word story inspired by the posted picture.  Tough challenge but it seems my essay concision skills haven’t rotten completely.

City Girl

Sandra sat utop the rolling hill, swift hands devotedly sketching the figure in the garden below. She etched in rounded details, remembering straight cityscapes. Gone were comforting smells of community; replaced by dirt and manure. Convenience of supermarkets sorely missed. Farm work now standard. Sandra hated it but for her new-found hobby. Her eyes rested fondly on the man, taking in his country-touched physique. Sensing her gaze, he turned his friendly grin in her direction and waved. Sandra waved back, flushed with delight. Sandra gazed into the uncluttered sky and thought with a satisfied smile ‘maybe I’ll tell him tomorrow’.

Comments on: "City Girl: Friday Fictioneers" (20)

  1. Love it! Especially the last line, maybe I’ll tell him tomorrow. Of course I’m wanting to know what.

  2. Nicely done. I hope she doesn’t tell him.

  3. Wow I love this. Well done 🙂

  4. Really like your story – if she tells him – then another story? Love your page – I love color! Thanks, Nan

    • Ha, thanks. I really wanted a very vibrant page because it speaks to me personally about the nature of creativity.

      Actually I was tossing around an idea of it from his POV first but as I’m in two minds I might just do both. 🙂

  5. […] flash-fiction is part of the Friday fictioneers challenge.  It is also a sequel to City girl, which is also part of the same […]

  6. Lovely. I do like this.

  7. I like “the comforting smells of community”, although there are comforting smells of that sort in the country, too. I wonder if she’ll succumb to the joys of being a country girls.

    janet

  8. Dear Penshift,

    A hearty welcome to Friday Fictioneers. From your comments I see that you write with the voice of experience. A nice piece…picturesque and pungent. Now I must go read your sequel.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thanks, Friday Fictioneers seemed like a fun challenge; I’m glad I joined. Experience is one word for it. Enforced relocation is another.

  9. Well written and intriguing.
    Cool stuff.

  10. I find this enchanting and hopeful… wonder what happens when she tell him?

  11. A different kind of love story 🙂

  12. Tell him tomorrow…aaahh my imagination is on fire!

Leave a comment