Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

Leap of Faith

sweptawayThat was the last time I ever heard from her.

“Leap of Faith” makes use of two writing prompts.  The first is the above quote borrowed from ‘A Writer’s Path‘.  The second photographic prompt is from ‘Picture It and Write‘.  This is Part 1 of a series of 3 chapters, 2 yet to come.

“That was the last time I ever heard from her,” Eric mumbled into his drink. He drained the pint, signalling for another. Maybe the memory would fade with another. Years later images forced their way into his thoughts. Preventing invasions into his dreams took more alcohol than his liver could handle. All inebriation achieved was causal detachment from evocative memories.

“They called it suicide, you know?” In chaos surrounding him, no one listened. Eric chugged his beer. Another drunk drowning sorrows. “But it wasn’t. She looked so exuberant as she leapt over the falls; as if she would take flight.” Eric drained the glass. “’This is my faith,’; those were Elandra’s last words to me. And there I was, cut and bleeding from scrambling to stop her. All I could do was watch as she drifted away.” Eric stared at his empty glass; searching.

Comments on: "Leap of Faith" (13)

  1. patiently waiting for more. 😉 great story so far. I’m intrigued http://quietramblings.com/

  2. What a sad story. I can picture him so clearly, sitting there with his drink, telling his story but no one listening. I can’t wait to read more. 🙂

    • I’ve finished up to part four now. It’s a matter of interpretation as to whether his situation improves or not.

  3. A well told story, Penshift, and very sad. I’m surprised the poor man’s still got a liver left after all the alcohol he’s consumed. You’ve left us with some intriguing questions – like what did Elandra mean by ‘This is my faith’? 🙂

  4. You’ve got me intrigued too! Great story.

  5. Gripping! I like the image of her taking flight. I look forward to reading your blog – all your energy is very engaging.

    • Thanks. Really it’s the energy I wish I could use everyday. Instead it ends up being burnt of in laziness or writing. The latter works better for me. 🙂

  6. […] Sunday Photo Fiction entry.  Part One is here. […]

  7. […] Visdare prompt. Part one is here and part two is […]

  8. […] section is written in response to the photo prompt from Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Parts One, Two and Three. <—- Follow to find if you have not read yet.  This is my third segment on […]

Leave a comment