Forging ahead with fictional endeavours: ~ Write a life on a page and hurry not to its grave; abhor not the coming age, for eternal is the next page. ~ Read what you will, I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I do writing.

workshop

Another short story for Friday Fictioneers.  This one’s a little sad…

The workshop once had been busy. Now it was bereft of all but a sole individual, a weighted-down man with no care for his appearance. He carved, hands moving roboticly. He stopped only to drink from a stained cup or half-eaten tasteless noodles. The framed photo of a child stared at him from the desk; he slapped it face down into the newspaper clippings. Sombre silence accompanied the wooden creation taking form on his bench. In that silence the doll of a child was born. The man looked at the empty doll he created, and shed his first tears.

Comments on: "Not Pinocchio: Friday Fictioneers" (20)

  1. Yes it’s a bit dark.

  2. Perhaps now he’ll be able to move on from whatever has been bothering him. I like the image of hand moving robitically.

    janet

  3. True when I first saw the photo I wanted to do one with smoking, fire and death but as I started writing I went a different directioñ.

  4. This story was a sad but creative slant on the picture prompt. It’s a good thing we each create in different ways. Variety is necessary to life.

  5. Dear Penshift,

    Apparently this was his child that was lost. Nothing sadder than that. On a technical note I think you mean “half-eaten” not “half-eat.”

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Ah, thanks for that. Fixed it now, but the whole sentence still feels wrong. Ah well.

      Yes, an attempt at portraying the complexity of grief – a whole book would not suffice though.

  6. It is sad. Poor man. Bereaved father?

  7. i agree that this photo tends to inspire dark thoughts, but it’s all good, i liked your story. you did a great job in expressing the character’s grief. 🙂

  8. This was really affecting. Thank you for sharing it.

  9. How very sad-sometimes grief is difficult to express-possibly his craftsmanship acted as the catharsis ?Very evocative piece:-)

    • The act of crafting was meant to be an act of of catharsis while being symbolic of denial/desire to rebuild whats lost. Although that’s all my interpretation – which means nothing if i’m not effectively communicating that. Thanks. ^_^

  10. I felt this in my heart.

  11. It is sad, and very beautiful.

    • Thanks ^_^ I’m not gonna argue with praise. It will do my confidence in my ability some good. 🙂

      • Definitely! Confidence in myself is something I’m looking for as well,and hey we all like to be appreciated. You wrote a wonderful story, you deserve the praise 🙂

  12. Good story – he is using the doll making as an outlet for his mourning process, I think. I hope he finds some peace eventually. Thought-provoking!

Leave a comment